thinking aloud

Better by mistake

I have spent the most part of my adulthood regretting certain decisions I have made. At the time I was just focused on what I wanted right then and there I never gave  things a lot of thought. Lo and behold those decisions have led to where I am today. I’m not in the best position in life but I’m happy I’m not where I was before.Growing up I never thought things could be hard. One decision changed my life. At 19 I thought I was making the most adult decision ever, I had a clear cut plan and I knew how it was going happen. I even had it typed.

Nothing went according to plan. I found myself living couch to couch and broke. I struggled for a long time and for the first time in my life I found myself turning to God. Even when I turned to God I found myself drowning and there was no light at the end of the tunnel. I became bitter, angry with world. Today things are a better and nothing that is happening today is what I planned. Life taught me that If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans. Life is the best teacher it doesn’t get better than that.

Had it not be for that stupid decision I would have been the person that I am today, I wouldn’t have amazing friends and I wouldn’t be as strong as I am. I have learned a lot about myself, life and how to survive. I had a plan and it failed but in a way had it worked out I’m not sure what life would be like right now. All mistakes are not bad, they lead to better things.

When everything is falling apart, know that nothing lasts forever. Trust me it will happen, your time will come where things work out for you.  It might not be on your terms or on your time but it will happen. Its hard to be positive going through hard times so do your best to take it a day at time.

Till then…..

 

Leave a Reply

