real talk

Free natural hair

I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am not your expectations, no (hey)
I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am the soul that lives within

Remember these lyrics from India Ari’s song?  Some time this week there were reports saying that in South  Africa a petition went round to force Pretoria Girls High school to straighten their hair and not wear their hair natural. Not too shocking because in South Africa segregation is still a big issue. In this day and age there is an area only white people live, no blacks, but a ban on natural hair? 

Read the story here

In the reports natural hair was seen as ‘aggressive’,  ‘distracting others from learning’ and ‘scary’. Here I was thinking natural hair is a beautiful part of our ethnicity. It is my identity,it is who I am. I am born with natural hair. Natural hair is also a way of expressing ourself.Using  hair relaxers, texturisers, wearing weaves and braids is a choice not something that is or should be forced on me. Is this really about hair?

A lot of bad things has happened and are still happening in the world but don’t let what the few have done taint your view of everyone else. I know its easier said than done but we have to try. All things like petitions to ban afro hair or laws for women to remove this Burkas in public might seem like a good idea to make people feel safe but at what cost? Are we teaching tolerance?

Sadly, we have gone backwards, everything people like Nelson Mandela and Martin Luther King fought for was for nothing. We live in a time where we should be more tolerant, we have people going through sex changes, we have same sex relationships living out in the open. We have people from different races and religion marrying each other. None of this is tabooo because we have learned and accepted love is love. Despite all this we are becoming less tolerant. Some people are committing suicide because they not been accepted for who they are?  Why can’t we accept each other as we are?  Just like you we have a families, we have friends, we have dreams. We are human beings. The colour skin, your hair or gender doesn’t and shouldn’t make you a threat. If people accepted each other and see the beauty of our differences there would be less fear.

I say embrace who you are and embrace others around you. Don’t change who you are because some feels threatened by the very thing that makes you beautiful.

Watching this group of  women react to the afro ban  opens to my eyes to other aspects of the afro ban.

I would love to hear what you think .

Leave a Reply

